To provide quality education for the SC, ST and BC Rural students, the State Goverment has Sanctioned 819 MORARJI DESAI / KITTUR RANI CHENNAMMA / EKALAVYA / HUTATMA / ATAL BIHARI VAJAPAYEE / SC ST TALENTED Girls/ Dr. B R AMBEDKAR / Smt. INDIRA GANDHI Residential Schools and Pre University colleges. All the schools and colleges are working under KARNATAKA RESIDENTIAL EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS SOCIETY.

These residential Schools are started for the people who are socially and educationally backward ,in the form of Central government's Jawahar Novodaya Schools with the aim of providing quality education and help them in pursuing higher studies and thereby bringing them to mainstream of the society.